County Council

  1.  Council District 1 Council District 2 Strom_portrait
     Council District 4 Council District 5  Snohomish County Council Meetings 

County Council

The Snohomish County Council is the legislative authority for the county. The five members of the council are elected to four-year terms. Each member represents a specific geographic district.


Council Duties

The council’s duties include identifying and articulating the needs of the citizens of Snohomish County, and providing a framework for county administration to carry out its work efficiently, ensuring that county government responds effectively to the community’s needs. The county council adopts and enacts ordinances, resolutions, and motions; levies taxes; appropriates revenue; and adopts budgets for the county. The council confirms nominations to county boards and commissions and has concurrent authority with the county executive to nominate members to the Snohomish County Planning Commission. The council also appoints the hearing examiner.


Council Committees

Public Infrastructure and Conservation Committee (1st & 3rd Tuesdays @ 10:00 a.m.)

  • Committee Chair: Councilmember Low

  • Committee Vice-Chair: Councilmember Peterson

Planning & Community Development Committee (1st & 3rd Tuesdays @ 11:00 a.m.) 

  • Committee Chair: Councilmember Nehring

  • Committee Vice-Chair: Councilmember Dunn

Finance, Budget and Administration Committee (2nd & 4th Tuesdays @ 10:00 a.m.)

  • Committee Chair: Councilmember Dunn

  • Committee Vice-Chair: Councilmember Nehring

Health and Community Services Committee (2nd & 4th Tuesdays @ 11:00 a.m.) 

  • Committee Chair: Councilmember Mead

  • Committee Vice-Chair: Councilmember Low

Community Safety and Justice (2nd & 4th Tuesdays @ 1:00 p.m.)  

  • Chair: Councilmember Peterson
  • Committee Vice-Chair: Jared Mead

For agenda and meeting information:

Email the Council

For questions or comments:

Media Inquiries

Contact Laura Tanis, Communications Manager

phone: 425-312-0793